IIHF World Junior Winners and Medalists

IIHF World Junior Championship 2022 is one of the most popular hockey events on earth.

The competition takes place from the end of December through the beginning of January and comprises the top 10 hockey-playing nations from across the world.

The “Top Division” is comprised of these competitions, which are responsible for determining the world champion. Every player that won their respective event in one of the first three levels will move on to the next pool. The squad that came in last place gets moved down to the next level.

The very first gathering took place in the year 1977. The event was first held in 1974, 1975, and 1976 as an invitational competition; however, the IIHF was not mentioned as an official medalist at that time.

IIHF World Junior Winners and Medalists

IIHF World Junior Winners and Medalists

Here is the complete World Junior Winners list and Medals (1974-2022):

2021United StatesCanadaFinland
2019FinlandUnited StatesRussia
2018CanadaSwedenUnited States
2017United StatesCanadaRussia
2016FinlandRussiaUnited States
2013United StatesSwedenRussia
2011RussiaCanadaUnited States
2010United StatesCanadaSweden
2007CanadaRussiaUnited States
2005CanadaRussiaCzech Republic
2004United StatesCanadaFinland
2001Czech RepublicFinlandCanada
2000Czech RepublicRussiaCanada
1997CanadaUnited StatesRussia
1992CISSwedenUnited States
1991CanadaSoviet UnionCzechoslovakia
1990CanadaSoviet UnionCzechoslovakia
1989Soviet UnionSwedenCzechoslovakia
1988CanadaSoviet UnionFinland
1986Soviet UnionCanadaUnited States
1985CanadaCzechoslovakiaSoviet Union
1984Soviet UnionFinlandCzechoslovakia
1983Soviet UnionCzechoslovakiaCanada
1981SwedenFinlandSoviet Union
1980Soviet UnionFinlandSweden
1979Soviet UnionCzechoslovakiaSweden
1978Soviet UnionSwedenCanada
1977*Soviet UnionCanadaCzechoslovakia
1976*Soviet UnionCanadaCzechoslovakia
1975*Soviet UnionCanadaSweden
1974*Soviet UnionFinlandCanada
* Unofficial tournaments

Also Check:

Who won the most World Junior Ice Hockey Championships?

Canada holds the record for the most gold medals ever won with 18, whereas the Soviet Union/CIS/Russia only has 13 golds to their name.

How many IIHF world juniors gold medals does Canada have?

Canada team has accumulated 18 golds so far.

The IIHF World Junior Championship will take place in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada from August 9th to the 20th. The Hockey Canada roster, consisting of 25 players, has been revealed.

It should come as no surprise that all eyes will be on the top three prospects in the National Hockey League for Team Canada, who all play for the Columbus Blue Jackets: Mason McTavish, Kent Johnson, and Connor Bedard.

How many IIHF world juniors gold medals does the USA have?

So far, team USA has five gold medals.

To date, Team USA has earned 13 podium finishes, including five gold medals (2004, 2010, 2013, 2017, 2021).

Logan Cooley was the player in question, one of four first-round NHL Draft choices picked to represent the United States in 2022.

Cooley was chosen by the Coyotes in the third round of the NHL Draft after scoring 75 points (27 goals, 48 assists) in 51 games with the USA Hockey Under-18 team the previous season.

Cooley went on to say that all they needed to do was work together.

The United States will seek to win consecutive World Cups after defeating Canada 2-0 in the 2021 World Cup final. During the five-year period from 2005 to 2009, Canada won the competition five times.

Who won the 2021 world juniors?

The United States attained a Gold medal in the previous World Juniors Hockey competition.

The event took place on Tuesday at Rogers Place in Edmonton, Alberta, which will host the 2021 Gold Medal Game. The United States effectively defeated Canada, winning 2-0.
The US is 4-1 in gold medal games versus Canada and earned its fifth medal in six years at the World Junior Championships.

Drew Helleson, a second-round pick of the Colorado Avalanche, scored Team USA’s first goal. Helleson’s first-quarter field goal attempt was blocked by Alex Turcotte. Helleson earned four points in seven competitions at the Junior World Championships (two goals, two assists).

On January 5, 2021, the United States defeated Canada 1-0 at Rogers Place to win the gold medal at the 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship.

Trevor Zegras handed Team USA the lead for good in the 32nd second of the third session. Spencer Knight made 34 saves in the United States’ first World Juniors gold game shutout.

Team Canada was effectively represented by Alex Newhook, Bowen Byram, and Justin Barron. During the first six games, Canada never trailed and did not surrender a 5-on-5 goal until the final game.

In 2019, both Byram and Dylan Cozens earned gold medals. In the final game, Byram got four shots on goal in 25:54 of ice time while wearing the captain’s sweater. Later, he was named the team’s best player.

The next season will take place in Canada, which will serve as the host nation once more. The tournament will be played in both Edmonton and Red Deer, which are both located in the province of Alberta. These cities were originally chosen to host the 2021 event, but it was moved to just Edmonton due to safety concerns regarding the coronavirus. That year, there was not a single supporter who was able to attend any of the competitions.

Types of Medals in World Juniors Hockey

Here are the types of the medals in competition of World Juniors Ice Hockey:

  • Bronze: 3rd Place
  • Silver: 2nd Place
  • Gold: 1st Place

Final Words

With the absence of the Russia team, it could be the opportunity for the US to retain their Gold Medal. Or, will it be the opportunity for the Canada Team? We can’t also set aside the chances for other teams to get the Gold. Stick to this page and stay updated.